Week 9 (July 17-21)

Welcome back to my HPCC Systems internship journal! My main project goals are near completion and I’m excited to share my work in future presentations.

This Week’s Tasks

My initial task for this week was something different than my usual work. Upon looking at documentation files on GitHub, I realized that using quotes around my removed commented code was a mistake. To fix this, I created a Bash script that uses the sed command to find and replace quotes with three single quotes. There were occurrences where it made unneeded changes, so those were fixed manually and every segment of code in documentation files are now in a code block.

For the rest of the week, I focused on re-checking every single Bash and Python file in the OBT to see if any additional modifications can be made and to catch any potential errors I may have missed the first time around. In regard to the latter, I am referring to issues that could arise from removing unused variables or changing the case style of variables. Since other files can import them, it must be ensured that any change doesn’t affect the other file.

To check this efficiently, I made another Bash script that concatenates all of the OBT Bash files together so I could see every usage of a variable across multiple files. With this file, I was able to confirm that my changes should not have caused any conflicts between files.

Plan For Next Week

The good news is that all of my OBT changes have been reviewed and no negative externalities were caused by them. Any problem found was caused by a certain library not being installed, meaning my changes have been successful.

With that, I have completed the primary tasks for my internship project. These are converting the test system Python files to Python 3 and cleaning up the Python and Bash files by just keeping everything that is necessary and removing duplicate code where possible.

My focus now is working on a detailed presentation for the project which will be presented later this month. Beyond that, I will start work on my poster and apply any coding suggestions if provided.

Leave a comment