Week 8 (July 10-14)

Welcome back to my HPCC Systems internship blog journal. We are already approaching the last 4 weeks of this project, and absolutely nothing else can be said other than time is flying by! With my remaining time, I will try to get as much additional work done as possible while developing the best possible poster for the contest.

This Week’s Tasks

My primary focus this week was to undergo the clean-up process for the remaining OBT Bash files. In this task, I was able to finish the initial process for the remaining files. As normal, this involved removing commented code (excluding certain debug code), removing unused variables/functions, as well as implementing ways to reduce duplicate code.

With regards to duplicate code, I made several new functions or constants to decrease the amount of code present in certain files. In obtMain.sh, for example, I made several functions to discard long sequences of matching code.

Another part I emphasized this week was preventing potential issues from occurring in the future. Specifically, since certain files are imported, it’s important that the file using it is properly handling its functions/variables. This idea is relevant to this project due to me committing to consistent multi-word variable snake case in many files. I have checked to make sure there are no conflicts that can possibly occur due to variables being worded differently and have found and corrected a few instances where it may have occurred.

Plan For Next Week

After gaining final approval for my Smoketest Python file changes, I made a pull request on Github so it can be merged into the official source code. The merging will likely happen by sometime next week.

I have completed the initial clean up process for the OBT Bash files, an important step in this project. I intend on going through each file I have worked on thus far to see if there is anything I can add to it or if there are any potential issues I can catch and correct.

It will also be decided what my next steps of the project will be and how I can advance my work.

Leave a comment