Week 12 (August 7-11)

For the final time this summer, welcome back to my HPCC Systems internship blog journal! Wrapping up this adventure has been bittersweet, but I cannot be happier by the work I was able to create this summer.

This Week’s Tasks

This week started with the recording of my video for the poster submission. In just under 5 minutes, I managed to fit the key points about the project with a few important examples. With this video, I talked about the benefits of the project and what can be done in the future to maintain up-to-date Python versions for the testing system files.

For my final coding tasks, I developed unit tests for utils.sh, and expanded my calcTrend2Test. For each, I found additional functions that are unit test enabled within my environment and came up with different test cases for each. Utils.sh worked well for this purpose, as it contains numerous functions that just require a standard type for its parameters, like a string.

Throughout these processes, I managed to catch and report multiple errors. In utils.sh, I noticed there was a function that was not implemented correctly. I was able to figure out how to make it work with an array as a parameter and made unit tests for it. Additionally, I caught onto an error when running calcTrend2 with no file arguments and that will be resolved in the future.

Closing Remarks

Excluding the upcoming Poster Award ceremony and Project Q&A, this concludes my 2023 internship at HPCC Systems. There are many things I can say about my experience this summer. In 3 months, I was able to improve my knowledge of Python and Bash to where I could do a project large in scope that will improve the quality of the HPCC Systems testing libraries. I am happy with the work I produced. I hope it ends up making a difference in one capacity or another.

I would like to thank my mentor Attila Vamos for providing great mentorship (2 years in a row) and answering any questions I have promptly and in great detail. I would also like to extend thanks to my manager Hugo Watanuki and everyone else on the HPCC Systems team who was able to assist in my journey and provide great collaboration.

Thanks for reading everyone. Enjoy the rest of your summer and I look forward to participating in the poster contest.

Leave a comment