Week 5 (June 19-22)

Hello and welcome back to my internship blog journal! I am already close to reaching the midway point in this project. Looking at my proposal, I am ahead of pace compared to what was expected at this point of time. This is great as both motivation and a way of providing more time to do some of the later tasks.

Tasks This Week

This week had multiple objectives. First, I completed my initial work for the Bash files in the Smoketest. Like last week, I fixed deprecated features into their modern counterparts and removed commented/unused code. I have made a pull request and am anticipating it being reviewed in the coming weeks.

While I was waiting for all of my Smoketest Python converted files to finish review, I took the steps necessary to begin work in the OBT. After forking and cloning the repository, I chose my first Python file to begin the process on BuildNotification.

Like the Python files in the Smoketest, for BuildNotification my guideline was the following:

  1. Run 2to3 on a new copy of the file
  2. Using a file difference checker, decide which changes are a necessity to keep and document them
  3. Attempt to execute the file and see if there are any features that need to be changed in order to run in Python 3
  4. Parse through the file and remove commented code except where necessary to explain the code
  5. Look for any unused functions or variables and remove and document them if they seem pointless

In addition, there were several TO-DOs with features that could be possibly achieved. One of which was a constant to create spans with colors, rather than having to hardcode the span each time. I implemented this with a new class and a function that takes in a color and text content to produce a span.

Finally, my last task of the week was to implement additional suggestions for my Smoketest Python files, in particular SchedulePullRequests and ProcessPullRequests. There were a few inconsistencies found, which I corrected and committed.

Plan For Next Week

For next week, I intend on continuing my work on the Python files in the OBT, where there are over a dozen. I am curious if I will come across any Python 3 issues post 2to3, like there was with decoding in the Smoketest.

Leave a comment